Elected Members:

Three members elected by each Regional Assembly, at least one of whom will be clergy and at least one being lay. At least two of the elected members will be members of Synod at the time of their election. The elected representatives must be a member of a congregation within the Regional Assembly at the time of their election.

Appointed Members:

The Bishop will have the right to appoint up to six additional members.


Two (2) years.

Synod Council 2023/2024

Reverend Robert Porter (Leeds-Grenville)
Mary Haigh (Leeds-Grenville)
Angela Kelman (Leeds-Grenville)

Reverend Sandra Hounsell-Drover (Frontenac)
Aveleigh Kyle (Frontenac)
Susan Orgil (Frontenac)

Reverend Noel Henry (Quinte)
Reverend Richard Hetke (Quinte)
Cathy Seymour (Quinte)

Reverend Brad Beale (Hastings)
Reverend Jeff O'Hare (Hastings)
Anne Striker (Hastings)

Bishop Appointees

Tony Ashworth
Rebecca Michael
Susan Withers


The Rt. Rev. William Cliff (Bishop of Ontario, Chair)
Mr. Garth Allan (Chancellor)
Mr. Alex Pierson (Diocesan Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer)
The Ven. Wayne Varley (Archdeacon of Ministry and Programs)
Jane Kirkpatrick (Honorary Lay Secretary)
The Rev. Margaret Johnston Jones (Honorary Clerical Secretary)